Please help

Discuss equipment and methods or ask for advice
kianelle

Please help

Post by kianelle »

Can anyone please give me some advice on some very frustrating problems in having with my camera? I’m still learning photography so any advice is great
Problem

I have a canon 600d and at air shows I use a sigma 50.500mm 1.4-6.3 APO lens .The problem I’m having is the lens cant seam to focus on moving aircraft it keeps focusing in and out and wont lock to give me a clear shot even if I do get it to focus is soon as I scan across the sky following the aircraft it struggles to focus. It’s not just this lens it the same with others I have tried. I keep on changing setting on camera like the AF mode and the metering mode but still it changes nothing the only way I get a shot is to stick the focus point on infinity but it’s not ideal .I recently went to the mac loop and after waiting all day in the freezing cold a typhoon appeared but as soon as I pointed camera at it the lens just could not focus on moving jet and all I got was blurred phots I’m so disappointed and really not enjoying photograph at mo. . So what’s going on? If it’s because I’m using a basic modal camera if so can anyone please recommend the next modals up that may sort this problem out I can’t afford the latest modals so I’m looking at the next upgrade that will solve my problem.
Thank you for your time

luke

Re: Please help

Post by luke »

I started out with a Canon 400d which I didn't have any of the problems you described with. Your's is newer so I can't see it being a limitation of the camera, more likely to be a settings issue, hardware fault or user error.
Do you get this issue if you put it in auto mode? What mode are you shooting and what AF settings have you used?

I can imagine how frustrating a day you must have had going to the loop and not being able to take anything useful.

TonyB

Post by TonyB »