40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Discuss equipment and methods or ask for advice
Post Reply
timuss
Posts: 4452
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 4:19 pm
Location: Sompting,West Sussex
Contact:

40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by timuss »

All was going smoothly, with my 40D i've had it for years, i've used it with my 100-400 at three airshows this year last one being Shoreham. But i get to Dunsfold yesterday took around 6 shots and then error 99 strikes :mad: Thank goodness i carry my 350D with me i was able to use my 100-400 on there fine.

Anyway i've tried all my other lenses on the 40D and still get error 99 i cant take any pictures with it. The camera is long out of warranty as i've had for a few yers now. Does anybody have any experience as to what it could be?

Is it expensive to repair as well????
Canon 7Dmk2
Canon 7D
Sigma 18-200
Sigma 10-20
Canon 100-400 L IS II
Icom ICR-2 Scanner
PSN: timuss

NigeF-51
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 6:23 pm

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by NigeF-51 »

What a coincidence!! My 40D did exactly the same yesterday afternoon at Little Gransden. Tried all the tricks; changed lenses, cf cards, batteries, battery grip on/off & the best I could get was one or two more shots before it happened again. :sick:

Had a play when I got home and found that it would still work in Live-view although an increasing number of the shots feature an over-exposed band across the bottom. Mine is just out of warranty and has only shot about 8000 frames. :sad: :sad:

Time to get it repaired I suppose.

Nige

timuss
Posts: 4452
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 4:19 pm
Location: Sompting,West Sussex
Contact:

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by timuss »

Mine is able to take pics in live view as well no problems at all.
Canon 7Dmk2
Canon 7D
Sigma 18-200
Sigma 10-20
Canon 100-400 L IS II
Icom ICR-2 Scanner
PSN: timuss

User avatar
LN Strike Eagle
UKAR Staff
Posts: 10657
Joined: Mon 21 Jul 2008, 3:29 pm

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by LN Strike Eagle »

Ben had it at Kemble too, didn't he!? :shock:
"You really are an oafish philistine at times!"

User avatar
Marky Mc
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun 24 Aug 2008, 8:45 pm
Location: Near Leuchars

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by Marky Mc »

Not a new problem, as this thread illustrates :

http://forums.airshows.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=6991

Think I was quoted about £200 to repair. Decided not to bother and "upgraded" to the 50D.

User avatar
StephenEThomas
Posts: 554
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 10:40 pm

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by StephenEThomas »

I had err 99 on my 40D about 3 weeks ago.

Followed all the steps, cleaned the contacts, it's been fine since

Steve

timuss
Posts: 4452
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 4:19 pm
Location: Sompting,West Sussex
Contact:

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by timuss »

61_OTU wrote:I had err 99 on my 40D about 3 weeks ago.

Followed all the steps, cleaned the contacts, it's been fine since

Steve


I've tried that with a rubber it hasn't sorted it for me :sad:
Canon 7Dmk2
Canon 7D
Sigma 18-200
Sigma 10-20
Canon 100-400 L IS II
Icom ICR-2 Scanner
PSN: timuss

KarlADrage
Posts: 1159
Joined: Wed 23 Jul 2008, 6:02 am
Location: Woodford, Northants
Contact:

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by KarlADrage »

As DanO's alluded to, mine died at Benson on Thursday. "Err 99 Cannot shoot. Turn off and on or replace battery". Done that, taken the grip off, taken the lens off, tried a different lens, taken the small battery out, nothing improves the situation...

Only thing is I suspect mine's probably closer to the advertised shutter life than most!

russkev
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri 31 Oct 2008, 9:19 am

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by russkev »

Sorry to hear about these errors you are all having ! I am concerned that I may hit the issue soon as well now!

Karl - how many images have you shot with the 40D now ? I am up around the 6500 mark so expecting it to fail at some point as well. Looks as though I'll need to keep my 300D as backup for Thursdays Photo call !

Not good and even more reason to move across to Nikon !

Kevin

timuss
Posts: 4452
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 4:19 pm
Location: Sompting,West Sussex
Contact:

Re: 40D ERROR 99!!!!!!!

Post by timuss »

I've taken a fair few with mine at Shoreham it went over and started from 1 according to the file numbering mine was up to 9999 then it reset itself and strated from 1 again.
Canon 7Dmk2
Canon 7D
Sigma 18-200
Sigma 10-20
Canon 100-400 L IS II
Icom ICR-2 Scanner
PSN: timuss

David P
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 7:11 am

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by David P »

That would be it then... My 40D died at about the 10k shutter point (and a few others seem to have done so as well) - and had a trip to Canon for a new shutter assembly. Just in warranty fortunately.

leader12
Posts: 454
Joined: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 10:41 am
Contact:

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by leader12 »

Bought mine the month it came out, Over 70k on the shutter no problems, Only ever had one 99 error and that was due to a unformatted card.

Also I bought repair insurance for 3 years (which covers me for any malfunction)
Help save Denham Aerodrome and surrounding area, NO TO HS2http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/353

David P
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 7:11 am

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by David P »

leader12 wrote:Bought mine the month it came out, Over 70k on the shutter no problems, Only ever had one 99 error and that was due to a unformatted card.

Also I bought repair insurance for 3 years (which covers me for any malfunction)


Which doesn't mean they all break! Though it does seem as though quite a few have failed around the 10k pics mark, judging by other reports here and elsewhere on the web...

steviejasp
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 7:17 pm

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by steviejasp »

Sorry to hear about your camera prob Tim. What are you doing about it?

ps. Ive got my new one now :ninja:

timuss
Posts: 4452
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 4:19 pm
Location: Sompting,West Sussex
Contact:

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by timuss »

Hi Steve i've decided to get it fixed after that im not sure. I see Canon have just announced a 7D that looks very impressive a bit out of my price range though.

What have you ended up getting then Steve?
Canon 7Dmk2
Canon 7D
Sigma 18-200
Sigma 10-20
Canon 100-400 L IS II
Icom ICR-2 Scanner
PSN: timuss

steviejasp
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 7:17 pm

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by steviejasp »

Hope its not too expensive. Where did you take it?

I went for a Nikon D300s in the end. Just got to save up for a few more lenses now :biggrin:

timuss
Posts: 4452
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 4:19 pm
Location: Sompting,West Sussex
Contact:

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by timuss »

steviejasp wrote:Hope its not too expensive. Where did you take it?

I went for a Nikon D300s in the end. Just got to save up for a few more lenses now :biggrin:


Sent off to Canon via park camera's, Nice one with the 300s bet your glad to have a camera back now.

The new 7D thats just been announced sounds very impressive maybe a bit to expensive for me.
Canon 7Dmk2
Canon 7D
Sigma 18-200
Sigma 10-20
Canon 100-400 L IS II
Icom ICR-2 Scanner
PSN: timuss

foxfour
Posts: 853
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 11:48 pm

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by foxfour »

When I was looking to buy a digital SLR the deciding factor for me was when someone I know who works for a newspaper told me that their photographer had the dreaded error 99 on all the office Cannon DSLRs in a fairly short space of time. Quite glad I bought Nikon now.

User avatar
grant_w
Posts: 712
Joined: Sun 31 Aug 2008, 11:33 am

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by grant_w »

All these reports of Error 99 are certainly worrying, my cousin who is also a member on here had it on his 30D at Duxford a couple of weeks ago, and is a bit worrying as I'm going to be in the market for a new DSLR in the upcoming months.
Has this problem been reported on a 50D yet ?

User avatar
Lightning
Posts: 344
Joined: Sun 07 Sep 2008, 1:10 pm

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by Lightning »

I've got a 4yr old 350D with 90,000 clicks and a 2yr old 40D with 30,000 clicks. Not a single error 99, or any other faults, on either :biggrin:

User avatar
747woody
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon 01 Sep 2008, 9:53 am

Re: 40D Error 99!!!!!!!

Post by 747woody »

My 40D's been fine but my 30D has had ERR 99 twice :sad: . Both times it was the mirror locking up and necessitated returns to Canon for repair (second time was seven months after the first, but they repaired for free :smile: - their repairs only have a six month warranty!)

Post Reply