WW2 allies 1/32 Spitfire Mk.IXc Done!

A forum for UKAR Group Builds
Fumbles

WW2 allies 1/32 Spitfire Mk.IXc Done!

Post by Fumbles »

I'm back! After much travel and getting back into not only working on kits. But general life work as well. Here is where I am in the WWII group build. I took a chance and bought the new Pacific Coast Models 1/32 scale Spitfire Mk.IX

I was going to do a full work in progress. But many things got in the way. From work to travel and a few computer problems. You all will have to settle on the pictures of the beginning of the build and from now till the end of September I'll keep it updated.

First things first. I have never built a kit from this company before. When it arrived. I opened the box to see it had all the goodies in it. Photo Etch, Resin parts and engraved panel lines. Not alot more you could ask for in a kit for the price. I paid about 30 British Pounds for it with shipping.
Here's some of the box shots and spurs. Sorry for the quality of these pictures. I have to take them with a point and shoot camera. My Camera is in getting a full clean out lens and all.

The Box Art

Fuse Spurs

Real nice Decal sheet

Some of the Resin parts

The table full of parts again

Here is a not so good picture of the cpit. It's full of dust. But you get the idea.

Main part of the build. I'm happy with this company. The kit fit together rather well. But as a warning to new builders. This kit can be very tricky. The instructions don't provide alot of detail. Also there is no guide pins when you glue parts for example like the fuselage together.

Now I went backwards on this and painted the D-Day stripes first. I used the gloss white to also test for seem checks.

Now where I sit tonight. I'll be doing the touch ups on the stipes and a few other areas this week. If all goes well. I should be done this kit by the weekend.