Sea Vixen update

Discussions regarding historic aircraft, restoration and preservation etc
Domvickery
UKAR Staff

Sea Vixen update

Post by Domvickery »

It seems we’re at make or break for the Sea Vixen

[fb-post] https://www.facebook.com/17173783785311 ... 85000/?d=n[/fb-post]

imho (I have no knowledge of running any aircraft or any costings involved) they should focus on the aircraft that are & near airworthy, profit from them to put towards the restoration
Free straws available to clutch at - PM me. Inventor of the baguette scale

Wyvernfan

Re: Sea Vixen update

Post by Wyvernfan »

Considering the value of an airworthy Sea Vixen to both the flight and the Royal Navy - in terms of its Fleet Air Arm history and prominent place among Airshow ‘acts’, I wonder if they have considered the sale of other non airworthy airframes to help fund the Vixens restoration to flight?

I for one really hope it can be restored to fly again with Navy Wings, and a ‘thinning’ of the Fleet might be a better financial move in the long run!

Rob

Mike

Post by Mike »

They’d be far better off parking the Vixen in a corner and concentrating on their core aircraft like the Sea Furies and Swordfish. For quite a few seasons recently all they’ve been able to field is a Chipmunk. Far better to focus their limited resources on an achievable goal, getting the Vixen (and Seahawk) back in the air and funding the operating costs in a post-Shoreham environment was always a big ask.

MiG_Eater

Post by MiG_Eater »

It's nice to see a Swordfish or a Sea Fury - but it was always something utterly incredible to see the Sea Vixen in flight. I know others feel differently - but I hope they put everything into getting the Vixen back in the air, whatever the cost.

Paulish

Post by Paulish »