Sigma 500mm f.4 Sports lens

Discuss equipment and methods or ask for advice
danspuggti

Sigma 500mm f.4 Sports lens

Post by danspuggti »

Hi folks,

Does anybody have any experience of using this lens?

https://www.wexphotovideo.com/sigma-500 ... b-carousel

Currently using a Canon 100-400mm mk2 on my 7dmk2 and was looking at a possible upgrade (the 100-400 would go on a 2nd camera body) but I can’t find anyone who’s actually used the Sigma lens

Thanks,

Dan
Same old sh*t.............just happening on a different day!!!

Berf

Re: Sigma 500mm f.4 Sports lens

Post by Berf »

Yes I have it...

danspuggti

Post by danspuggti »

Berf wrote:
Fri 10 Jun 2022, 12:31 pm
Yes I have it...
Hi Berf,

How do you find it for aviation photography?
Are you happy with the images?
Do you/have you used it with a teleconverter?

Thanks for any help/info,

Dan

riatweatherman

Post by riatweatherman »

Hey.

Never used this lens before, but as I have been using the Sigma 800mm Lens for many years now (which I love) I can imagine The Sigma 500mm would be very good.

All the best,

Rich

Berf

Post by Berf »

danspuggti wrote:
Fri 10 Jun 2022, 12:37 pm
Berf wrote:
Yes I have it...
Hi Berf,

Dan
Hi Dan

Bought it before I was too old to be able to carry it! Used it for the last RIAT and MAKS and then it was put away for obvious reasons - so although I have had it for a number of years I am not that experienced with it. First, should I buy the Canon 500 - reviews in general said it was marginally better in some circumstances - and it was pretty much double the price so it was a no.