RAF Valley - 2002/2003

Photos older than five years old (preferably much older)
Ian G
UKAR Staff

RAF Valley - 2002/2003

Post by Ian G »

I studied at Bangor University from 2000-2003. In my final year I bought my first car and subsequently spent more time sat at either Rhosneigr or 'suicide rock' watching movements than actually studying! Who needs an environmental science degree anyway..... For some reason I decided to give slides a go and recently bought a slide scanner to go through all of my Dad's slides from the 60's-90's - some airshow gems there to show one day - but gave it a go with a few boxes of slides that I'd not looked at for a long time and had completely forgotten about. The camera I used was a Pentax ME super, my first camera and one I'd received for Christmas a few years prior. I got to grips with it on film much better than with slides and actually had far better results with that than my next film camera which I think was a 300V?

Anyway, I thought I'd share some really awful slide scans which have brought back some happy memories for me. I've now got a few thousand prints to go through and scan, that's my next task!

Obviously Hawks were the order of the day and there was no better place than to walk over what we called the 'rickety-rackety bridge' to the perimeter fence and to the end of, what was at the time, runway 32 threshold.

Valley - 015 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

Valley - 020 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

XX176 complete with gun pod probably having returned from Aberporth

Valley - 004 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

Valley - 016 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

Valley - 021 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

We'd get a fair few 100sqn Hawks here as well

Valley - 022 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

Valley - 023 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

Valley - 031 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

Valley - 006 by Ian Garfield, on Flickr

It was amazing how close to the airfield you could get walking around the sand dunes - I have no idea if it's still as accessible now?